Saving Printed Jobs

David Gross is president of Condé Systems Inc., of Mobile, Ala. For the past 24 years, he has devoted to advancing sublimation technology. He can be reached by email at dgross@conde.com.

One of the most frustrating things when doing sublimation is to have to re-print a job for any reason (e.g., printing on the wrong side of the paper or printing without having first performed a nozzle check). Not only does it waste paper and ink, but you also have to reopen the file and click through and verify all of the typical settings specific to that print job. This takes a lot of time and patience. For Windows users, there is a secret check box that tells Windows to save your printed jobs so that you can replay them. This has saved me countless hours over the years. This feature is also great for printing large quantities of transfers. Say you need 100 copies of a print; just set the copy count to 20 and then replay the job in 5 batches.

To enable this feature, go to the printer folder and right click on “properties” for Windows XP and Vista or “printer properties” for Windows 7. Choose the Advanced tab. Check the “keep printed documents” box. Hit apply then ok.
 
Now after you print a document, you can go back to the printer folder and double left click on the printer. This will open the printer queue. Right click on the job you wish to re-print and then left click on “restart”. Your job will then be replayed. You can delete a job by right clicking on it and left click on cancel.